At the heart of the City (Part I)

“Street” Photography downtown at the center of Athens. Omonoia square. It didn’t use to be like this. All shots taken with a Samsung EX-1 camera mostly at 24mm.

PLEASE, CLICK ON THE PICTURES FOR FULL VIEW

In case you like what you see, feel free to Share it with your friends. You’ll find a sharing button at the end of this post.

.

The General

.

.

Sky high

.

.

Pretending the pedestrian

.

.

AC/DC

.

.

Reflection

.

.

Babies

.

.

.

.

Blue nails

.

.

Just do it

.

.

The driver

.

.

Walkin’ talkin’

.

.

Spongebob Squarepants

.

.

Patrick Star

.

.

Buy me cheap

.

.

Doldrums

.

.

.

.

Right time, wrong place

Stay tuned for Part II

About Stamatis Gr

Graphic designer by profession, photographer by hobby. http://stamatisgr.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Street Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to At the heart of the City (Part I)

  1. Voxsound says:

    kala i typisa me tanoixto mplouzaki apla den yparxei.

  2. Susan Keiser says:

    The array of images grows, Collector, and the picture
    of this world becomes ever clearer…

  3. Mary says:

    The last four images are my favourites, plus I like ‘just do it’ and ‘walkin’ talkin’ very much! I love how close and in the middle of the actions the images are. Lots to see and notice.
    Well dond :-)

    • Stamatis Gr says:

      The images are posted in the sequence they were shot. I was quite warmed up in the middle of the photo-shoot, which is the last 4 ones in this update. I hope you like part 2, just the same :D

  4. Jack070 says:

    Got some nice shots there. Thought, the technical part is more important for me here :)
    It’s the compact camera with comparably small sensor, what aperture/focal/distance did you have to use to achieve relatively shallow DOF in some of the shots, like walkin talkin? Is it 24/1.8 and really (I mean really) close to subject, under 1 meter?

    • Stamatis Gr says:

      It’s 24-1.8-1/1000 ISO80 in the exif of the unresized image. Distance much closer than 1m. I’d say 30cm as the girl’s hand almost touched me. Image is uncropped and shot from waist level, thanks to the tilted screen.

  5. Muthe says:

    I really like the “pretending pedestrian” and “Right time wrong place”. The first one, reminds me of what happen in my country. if in your picture the motorcyclist is waiting to cross the road with the pedestrian next to him, in my country.. they use the pedestrian walk as a short cut to avoid the traffic jam. So, us, pedestrian, have difficulty walking on the facility that actually is given to us to walk.

    The second one, well I love her expression ^^ :D

  6. dave beaty says:

    wonderful photos in this group Stamatis! Dave B

Leave a Reply

