Pagrati at night

Pankration was a martial art introduced into the Greek Olympic Games in 648 BC and founded as a blend of boxing and wrestling but without any rules. The term comes from the Ancient Greek παγκράτιον [paŋkrátion], literally meaning “all powers” from πᾶν (pan-) “all” + κράτος (kratos) “strength, power”. Pagrati which was named after Pankration is a southeast area of Athens, 2kms away from the center of the city.

Stood Up


The Quarrel


The happy yappie walk


Heavy on my shoulders

 

Let me be

 

Buy my prints

 

Walking the dogs


The Joke

 

Twins

 

Warm light, Cold women

About Stamatis Gr

Graphic designer by profession, photographer by hobby. https://stamatisgr.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Black & White, Street Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pagrati at night

  1. NunoCanha says:

    Love the light, and your street shots.
    “The joke” is just great!

  2. betharr says:

    I agree with you… at night.
    nighttime lights are the differential. the shades are maximized.
    My favorites photos in this set are: the first and the last one.
    thx for honest comment on my blog. you are wellcome.

  3. anjalampert says:

    “buy my prints” is lovely! it actually looks a bit like a special capoeira selling technique! 😉
    isn’t shooting street at night great?!

  4. BethArr says:

    night light!…
    there is the sophisticated night vision here.
    i liked to know about Pankration myth.
    interesting how the old stories are present in our life (I believe in it).

  5. Mary says:

    A few of my favourite images of yours, here. #3 and 4, I love how the same setting gives so different and almost opposite feelings in these two images, because of the different human subject passing by. Once again the dogs make a striking and particular background in these photos. I love the night atmosphere, it enhances the moods, both of closeness and of loneliness of the people portraied.
    You should go out by night more often!

Leave a comment