A sunny day in Lavrio

25th of March 2011

Laurium or Lavrio is a town in southeastern part of Attica, Greece. Laurium was famous in Classical antiquity for silver mining, which was one of the chief sources of revenue of the Athenian state. The metallic silver was mainly used for coinage. It was notorious for the poor treatment of the slaves who worked in the mines. It is a sea port of much less importance than nearby Piraeus.
It is located about 60 km SE of Athens and N of Cape Sounio.

Selling greens


which are an indispensable part of the mediterranean diet.

At the fish market


where everything is fresh and so much tasty!

 

I wouldn’t trust my car in this repair shop

 

Bubble attacked

by some kids who had great fun!

 

Angels

About Stamatis Gr

Graphic designer by profession, photographer by hobby. https://stamatisgr.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Black & White, Street Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A sunny day in Lavrio

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great …!!!!!
    Laurio is a nice place for photos and you ve done a good job…!!!

  2. Eli says:

    I love all the photos from the series, but the last one is my favorite. I wrote you on dA maybe because of all the overexposed parts.

  3. Rufus Mangrove says:

    nice shots my man. i like the feeling of the shots because i know you are close! what is your set up?

    • Stamatis Gr says:

      Usually i shoot with a Nikon D90, with either a 28mm prime lens or a 18-105 kit lens, or a sigma 10-20.
      Sometimes I use a Leica Mini zoom or an Olympus Trip.

  4. Mary says:

    The last three images are my favourite ones, each one is a little story! Another great set, I do enjoy watching your blog.

Leave a comment